

Sons of the American Revolution Independence Chapter April-May 2013





Sept 24 - Next regular meeting.

May 17 Social - thanks to Mervin Peters for

hosting SAR at his Bar P Ranch in Tabor. 21 members and quests enjoyed great hamburgers and fixings (courtesy of Mervin) and visiting, topped with ice cream and yummy desserts.



L-R: Mervin Peters, George Nelson, Bob Cohen, Jack Millendar, James Jones. DJ

Attending: James Boone, Bob & Jane Cohen, Eugene & Sondra Cook, James & Dianne Jones, Robert & Carol Lyon, Jack & Mary Jane Millender, George Nelson, Mervin Peters, Martin & Jane Ranck, Bryan & Carol Stettler, John & Mary Thompson, Stanley & Sheila Wells.

June 14 Flag Certificates - Attend on Flag Day, 8:30 am, and help Independence Chapter present Flag Certificates to B-CS Prosperity Banks, 2807 South Texas Ave., Bryan, in recognition of exemplary patriotism in the display of The Flag of the United States of America. Contact James T. Jones, Jr., 979-690-8631, jtjones36@verizon.net.

May 27 Flags - Members are needed to join in placing US flags at the CS Cemetery, 2530 Texas Avenue 5, to commemorate U.S. soldiers who died while in the military in all wars in service to our country on Memorial Day, May 27, Monday 8:30 am. Several local heritage, historical and patriotic organizations come together to place flags to honor all veterans and take time to be thankful for freedom and our right to vote. Arrive at 8:20 for a SAR picture. Bring hammer and screwdriver to place flags. Bring young people to participate.

May 28 CAR - Brazos de Dios Chapter will hold an informative meeting at Ringer Library, 1818 Harvey Mitchell Pkwy, CS, 6-7 pm. Tammy Tiner Harding, Senior Leadership President, invites SAR members and young relatives under the age of 21, who might join CAR, to attend. CAR trains good citizens, develops leaders and promotes love of the United States of America and its heritage among young people.

July 5-10 - NSSAR Congress, Kansas City, Missouri, Downtown Marriott, 200 W 12th St. Link at top of www.sar.org web page for activities, registration, info.



Jack Millender (center) was inducted March 2013. Registrar James Jones (Left), President Bob Cohen (right). DJ



Independence Chapter President Bob Cohen presents Martha Washington medal to Marcy Heathman at May 9 DAR meeting for TXSSAR President Bob Clark.



Independence President Bob Cohen presents Martha Washington medal to Jane Cohen at March 26 SAR meeting. DJ

Thanks to Dianne Jones (DJ) for several photos.

ROTC Medal - SAR awards the ROTC Medal to foster the principle of the "citizen-soldier", exemplified by the Minutemen of Revolutionary War days. Independence Chapter presents this award to cadets who are selected by the Commanding Officer for having a high degree of merit with respect to leadership qualities, military bearing and general

excellence. Congratulations to the cadets honored in 2013:

April 13 ROTC 4 medals at Texas A&M University by Bob Middleton. to Allen Tschirhart, Drue Norton, Ryan Pruthi, Connor Yancey.

April 23 JROTC 1 medal at Brenham HS by Bob Cohen to Alvin Clayton. April 24 ROTC 3 medals at Prairie View A&M University by Jim Jones to Cullen Cook, Jon Abel, Anthony Williams.

May 18 JROTC 1 medal at Bryan HS by Jim Jones to David Magallanes. Bryan HS ROTC anticipates 300+ members next year. Students are supported on their future choices: service, scholarships, etc.

Texas SAR - Annual Convention, Dallas, April 4-7, 2013. Bob & Jane Cohen & James & Dianne Jones attended.



Bob Middleton, right, TAMU



TXSSAR President Bob Clark presents an "Outstanding Public Service Award", "Membership Ribbon", and several stars to Independence Chapter, President Bob Cohen.



Bob Cohen, left, receives Patriot Medal from James Jones, right, Committee Chair. Only presented by TXSSAR, five were honored highest award given by State for service at the State or Chapter level.



James Jones received a Texas Society Silver Service Medal.

To see Independence Chapter awards, go to txssar.org/awards13.htm



TXSSAR installs 2013-2014 Officers - L-R: President Elect Bob Cohen, State Sec Hank Voegtle, Staff Sec Larry Stevens, Communication Sec Sam Massey, (partial list).



2013-2014 TXSSAR Officers, continued, L-R: Dist VPs Larry Casey, John Thompson, Art Munford, Peter Rowley; Alternate National Trustee James Jones