## Minutes of the Meeting of the Dallas Chapter

## **TEXAS SOCIETY SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION**

## January 12, 2008

The meeting of the Dallas Chapter, SAR, was called to order at 8:30 a.m. at the Embassy Suites, (13131 North Central Expressway, Dallas, Texas) by Chapter President, Charles Baker. Most members had processed through the breakfast line.

Chaplain Frank Pounders reported that Compatriots Hank Goldwire and Bert Huls were recovering well from recent illnesses, D.A. Sharpe is scheduled for open heart surgery soon and Louis Patterson had fallen and broken his hip and all should be remembered in our prayers. Chaplain Pounders then led us in a word of prayer.

President Charles Baker made a short presentation about the American flag and read a poem entitled "I am the Flag of America". Chaplain Pounders then read the list of Chapter Compatriots who passed away in 2007 to the ringing of the ceremonial bell. These included Paul Ferguson, Warren Yarbrough, Elvin Brown, Theodore Hasbrouck and Jack Simer.

Charles Baker led the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag, Byron Christian led the recently revised Pledge to the Texas Flag and Nathan White led the Salute to the SAR Flag. Tracy Pounders led the Chapter in the singing of "America".

Past Chapter President Ralph McDowell introduced the meeting's greeter, George Monroe.

Guests and prospective members attending the meeting were introduced.

Arthur Ingalls entertained the attendees with a humorous story.

Last month's minutes created by Second Vice President Allen Christian were read by Secretary Byron Christian and approved by voice vote.

Treasurer Hank Voegtle announced that there were 42 members and 10 guests attending the meeting for a total of 52 attendees. He stated that as of the end of May we had \$336.63 in the Chapter checking account. No balances were available for the Minute Man or Richie Funds.

There was no old business brought forth.

New Business:

President Baker announced that as of this meeting there was an increase of \$2 in the hotel charge for breakfast. He is working on the problem and will have a recommendation this coming week for consideration by the new officers. An announcement will be posted in the newsletter and on the Chapter website if there is any change in our meeting location.

A concern exists about the cost of printing the Minuteman Newsletter. A motion was made and seconded that the Newsletter be published only twice a year thereby saving approximately 67% of our current cost. After much discussion the motion was defeated. The publishing of hardcopy newsletters will remain as is for the time being pending further analysis.

Registrar Al Sloan reported that there were no new members to be sworn in at this meeting. He stated that by the end of 2007 37 new members had been sworn in, 16 were pending and 6 were new applicants.

Ralph McDowell, Chairman of the ad hoc Dues Team reported that as of January 11, 2008 all but 50 members had paid their dues. The Dues Team members were Allen Christian, Grady Fairbairn, Art Ingalls, Martin Lyford, John Morton, Frank Pounders, Jim Templin, Tom Whitelock, Tom Smith and Ralph McDowell.

Chapter President Charles Baker presented the following Annual Awards and/or certificates:

Perfect Attendance	
Tom Whitelock – 8 years	
Ralph McDowell – 14 years	
Bob Spence	
Dick Arnold (absent)	
Certificates of Appreciation	
Al Sloan	
Charles Windham (absent)	
Laurie Crapo	
Chapter Service Medals	
Allen Christian Grac	ly Fai
Byron Christian Jame	es Fair
Hank Voegtle Art I	ingalls
Bob Clark Tom	Whit
Frank Pounders Ralp	h Mc
Jim Templin D.A	. Shar
President's Medal	
Cliff Slagle (absent)	

irbairn irbairn S telock Dowell rpe

Last Year's recipient of the Sisson Golden Sledgehammer Award, Jim Templin announced this year's winner was Allen Christian.

President Baker announced the new officers for 2008 and Past President General Nathan White swore them in. President Baker then presented gifts of business cards to each of the newly sworn officers.

The President ribbon was passed from 2007 President Charles Baker to 2008 President Bob Clark.

President Clark made a short speech about his objectives for the coming year and presented a special plaque to outgoing President Baker.

2007 Treasurer Hank Voegtle presided over the door prize drawings and the Benediction was given by Chaplain Art Ingalls, followed by the SAR Closing. The meeting was adjourned at 10:08.

Respectfully submitted, Byron Christian, Secretary, Dallas Chapter-TXSSAR